New Era Academy Examinations

I enter my local pupils for New Era Academy exams and they now award UCAS points from Grade 6 upwards.

Most exams are available from Preparatory Grade - approx age 5/6 up to grade 8 which is Gold Medal.

I will enter students in the following exams -    

Speech and Drama

These are from Preparatory Grade up to Grade 8 (Gold medal)

The student has to recite from memory one poem and one piece of prose and depending on grade sight read a passage and discuss theory with the examiner.


From Preparatory Grade to Grade 8 (Gold Medal)

Two scenes have to be performed and at the higher grades perform a piece of sight reading from a play. Grades 6, 7 and 8 require either improvisation or mime as well.

You will also have a short discussion with the examiner.


Minimum age 11 years.

Perform scenes from Shakespeare and discuss with the examiner.

Reading Aloud

From preparatory grade to Grade 8 (Gold Medal).

Read a prose passage from the actual book from a choice of two authors and read a poem from a choice of two poets.

Sight read prose and poetry.

No discussion with examiner.

Solo Verse Speaking

Students must be a minimum of 11 years old.

Recite from memory two, three or four poems - depending on grade.

English as an Additional Language

Specifications alter quite a lot for the different grades but include reading prose, reciting poetry, talking about life in the UK

Available from preparatory grade to Grade 8 (Gold Medal).


You must be a minimum of 10 years old

Present a recital from memory, based on a theme to include (depending on grade) a poem, an acted monologue, a piece of prose, or a mime or devised scene


These examinations are designed to enable students with specific disabilities, special needs and disadvantages to participate in the examination process successfully.

UCAS Points

  • Grade 6
  • Pass gets you 20 points
  • Merit gets you 35 poimts
  • Distinction gets you 40 points
  • Grade 7
  • Pass gets you 35 points
  • Merit gets you 50 points
  • Distinction gets you 55 points
  • grade 8
  • Pass gets you 45 points
  • Merit gets you 60 points
  • Distinction gets you 65 points

What people say about my courses

'Recommend to all speakers of the English Language who wish to improve or correct their pronunciation. The Teacher has a great way of explaining concepts and the reasons why a pronunciation should be correctly pronounced in a certain way. I like the tutor's way of teaching,which is a traditional style,that has substance and clarity. Video and Audio quality is very good.' - Shaun, Aug 2018

'I had a mumbling issue which led me to go to a speech therapist and pay £100 per session, after losing £200 and still not having a solution, I came across this course and I had quickly found the solution to my problem. Over and above that, I got a lot more out of this course, more than anything a real enlightenment as to how I speak, how that comes across and how I can improve my speech to get better outcomes out of conversations and speeches. Thank you Serena.' Reuben, Aug 2018

What people say about me .....

You are a "Guru" (teacher) in the true sense of the word, as you impart and share your knowledge in totality, and I'm lucky to have you as a teacher. Kavita.

'....explained everything professionally well and honest she gave very good useful tips and has this unique charm and engaging voice that soothes my fears of always being afraid to speak to others because they might judge me and she was thoroughly precise and to the point and she gave quite a lot of useful longevity tips for everyday use. IMPRESSIVE 5 STARS!!'  Laurie , Aug 2018

I’m lucky enough to have had some elocution classes with Serena face-to-face some years ago in Bournemouth. Having English as a second language I used Serena’s knowledge and professionalism to help me, at first, to understand that an accent can be a part of your character and this gives your speech some flavour. The important bit is to understand and learn how to speak every single word clearly, with a good pace, with high and lows which make your speech interesting. It was enlightening, and now I have found online all those wonderful classes with a genuine English lady. This is priceless. Thank you Serena! - Newton, Feb 2018